Mt. Vernon Outland Airport wins 2015 Airport of the Year

(ROCKFORD, IL) — Board Chairman Mike Ancona, Vice Chairman Greg Martin, Secretary Eddie Lee, Treasurer Gary Chesney, and Airport Director Chris Collins accepted, on behalf of the Mt. Vernon Outland Airport, the Illinois Department of Transportation – Division of Aeronautics General Aviation Airport of the Year Award at the 2015 Illinois Aviation Conference in Rockford, Illinois on Thursday, May 14th. The award is presented based on the following criteria: cooperation with IDOT and FAA officials, safety record, service to the local community, and general maintenance of the facility. This is the third recent honor for the local airport. The Jefferson County Hall of Honor and Colonel R.D. White Veterans Museum, based inside the Koziara Terminal, won the Governors Hometown Award in December. The Governors Volunteer Service Award was presented to the airport and its volunteers in April.