Clay County State’s Attorney Appointed to Be Clay County Resident Judge

CLAY COUNTY — Chief Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier and the Illinois Supreme Court have announced the appointment of a new judge in the Fourth Judicial Circuit.

The Clay County State’s Attorney has been named Clay County Resident Circuit Judge to replace Judge William Robin Todd who retired January 18.

Joel J.C. Powless will officially take the bench March 1 and will remain in the seat until December 7, 2020, when a permanent Resident Judge will be selected by Clay County voters.

Powless has been the Clay County State’s Attorney since 2016.

Chief Justice Lloyd A. Karmier recommended the appointment to the full Court following a review of applicants by a six-person screening committee consisting of lawyers who reside in the Fourth Judicial Circuit.

The members of the committee were Paul Bishop, Barry D. Bright, Christopher Daniels, Wayne County State’s Attorney Kevin Kakac, Aaron Leonard, and Sherri Tungate.

The Fourth Judicial Circuit encompasses nine counties: Christian, Clay, Clinton, Effingham, Fayette, Jasper, Marion, Montgomery and Shelby.