Artists React to 2018 CMA Nominations

Artists React to 2018 CMA Nominations

Chris Janson earned his very first CMA nominations this year with three – New Artist of the Year, and Song and Video of the Year for his current single, “Drunk Girl.” He said, “My heart is full. This has been an unbelievable morning. I’m humbled by the nominations and thankful to everyone for believing in me. The opportunity to make music for a living is beyond anything I could’ve ever have imagined and for that I’ll forever be grateful. Thank you. To be nominated as new artist after 10 years in this town – I’m proof that dreams do really come true. This is for every one of you that has been in my life along the way and listened to my songs.”

Dan + Shay picked up four nominations between them including Song, Single and Video of the Year for their hit “Tequila” as well as a Duo of the Year nod. Dan Smyers said, “Our fans reward us every time we go on stage, and without them none of this would be possible. To be recognized by our peers in the music industry with these nominations adds to what has been the best year of our music career so far. We’ll surely be pouring some tequila to celebrate!”

Florida Georgia Line (Vocal Duo, Single & Musical Event for “Meant To Be”): This means so much to us 🙏🙏 THANK YOU @cma for these 3 nominations!!! @beberexha – ever been nominated for a CMA before??

Midland (Vocal Group, New Artist, Single) – “Honestly kinda speechless. How did three guys who started jamming in a converted garage scrape far enough to get 3 nominations from the G-dang CMAs!? This is surreal! Thank you to our team for helping us get this far. Lots of close shaves along the way, y’all never doubted us. We’ve already won just being mentioned here. Wow. Thank you fans, MIDLANDEROS, for supporting us!”

Luke Combs (Male Vocalist, New Artist) – “Humbled and honored to have been nominated for Male Vocalist of the Year and New Artist of the Year at the @cma Awards. Thanks to all who made this happen.”


The complete list of the 2018 CMA Nominees are:


Entertainer of the Year

Jason Aldean

Luke Bryan

Kenny Chesney

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban


Album of the Year (Awarded to Artist(s) and Producer(s))

From A Room: Volume 2 – Chris Stapleton

Golden Hour – Kacey Musgraves

Graffiti U – Keith Urban

Life Changes – Thomas Rhett

The Mountain – Dierks Bentley


Female Vocalist of the Year

Kelsea Ballerini

Miranda Lambert

Maren Morris

Kacey Musgraves

Carrie Underwood


Male Vocalist of the Year

Dierks Bentley

Luke Combs

Thomas Rhett

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban


Vocal Group of the Year

Lady Antebellum


Little Big Town


Old Dominion


Song of the Year (Awarded to Songwriter(s))

“Body Like a Back Road” (Sam Hunt) – Songwriter(s): Zach Crowell, Sam Hunt, Shane McAnally, Josh Osborne

“Broken Halos” (Chris Stapleton) – Songwriter(s): Mike Henderson, Chris Stapleton

“Drowns the Whiskey” (Jason Aldean) – Songwriter(s): Brandon Kinney, Jeff Middleton, Josh Thompson

“Drunk Girl” (Chris Janson) – Songwriter(s): Scooter Carusoe, Tom Douglas, Chris Janson

“Tequila” (Dan + Shay) – Songwriter(s): Nicolle Galyon, Jordan Reynolds, Dan Smyers


Vocal Duo of the Year

Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay

Florida Georgia Line

Maddie & Tae



New Artist of the Year

Lauren Alaina

Luke Combs

Chris Janson


Brett Young


Single of the Year (Awarded to Artist(s), Producer(s) and Mix Engineer(s))

“Broken Halos,” Chris Stapleton

“Drinkin’ Problem,” Midland

“Drowns the Whiskey,” Jason Aldean Feat. Miranda Lambert

“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rexha and Florida Georgia Line

“Tequila,” Dan + Shay


Musical Event of the Year

“Burning Man” – Dierks Bentley Feat. Brothers Osborne

“Dear Hate” – Maren Morris (Feat. Vince Gill)

“Drowns the Whiskey” – Jason Aldean (Feat. Miranda Lambert)

“Everything’s Gonna Be Alright” – David Lee Murphy (with Kenny Chesney)

“Meant to Be” – Bebe Rexha & Florida Georgia Line


Music Video of the Year (Awarded to Artist(s) and Director(s))

“Babe” – Sugarland (featuring Taylor Swift)

Director(s): Anthony Mandler


“Cry Pretty” – Carrie Underwood

Director(s): Randee St. Nicholas


“Drunk Girl”– Chris Janson

Director(s): Jeff Venable


“Marry Me” – Thomas Rhett

Director(s): TK McKamy


“Tequila” – Dan + Shay

Director(s): Patrick Tracy


Musician of the Year

Jerry Douglas – Dobro

Paul Franklin – Steel Guitar

Dann Huff – Guitar

Mac McAnally – Guitar

Derek Wells – Guitar

Image: Screenshot