State recognizes Illinois ‘Airport of the Year’ recipients

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. (AP) — The Illinois Department of Transportation has recognized six airports with 2017 Airport of the Year awards. The awards were presented Thursday at the Illinois Aviation Conference in Champaign. Winners are air fields in Marion, Wheeling, Macomb, Sparta and Kankakee. Transportation Secretary Randy Blankenhorn says the aviation community in the state “helps Illinois to strengthen its status as the transportation hub of North America.”