Mt. Vernon Elects New Mayor, Council Members

(MT. VERNON, IL) — It will still be two weeks until it is official, but on Tuesday, the citizens of Jefferson County spoke and elected a new mayor among many decisions they made when they went into the voting booths. Of the 24,610 registered voters, 7,036 total ballots were cast and at the end of the night, John Lewis held 60.31% of the vote among the four candidates running, projecting him as the new mayor of Mt. Vernon.  In the race for City Council, with two seats open, James Rippy lead the way by securing 30.6% of the vote. Mike Young was second with 20.7% holding off a tough battle from Ken Meyers, who came in a close third with just under 19%. In a race that could be considered too close to call until the official results are canvassed on April 19th, the Mt. Vernon Township Supervisor race that was separated by just 46 votes with Amanda Bean holding the edge over Jason Hulbert. Cassandra McDermott is the projected winner in the Mt. Vernon Township Clerk race over her opponent Wayne Hicks.  Kenny Hayes held off tough competition from James “Jimmy” Hayes Jr. for the Mt. Vernon Highway Township Commissioner race, a 40.2% to 36.9% edge. For Mt. Vernon Township Trustee, with four seats available, Terry Moore was the leading vote getter at 14.6% with Nick Lemay and Les Sinks each grabbing 14.5% of votes, and Charlie Heck just under 14%. In the Mt. Vernon District 201 School Board Race, the voters chose Kathy Asbery with nearly 23% of voters naming her on their ballot. David Kassner received just over 20% of the vote and Brittany Boldt receiving a solid 18.3% of the vote. In the District 80 race, Cleo Holt received just under 20%, Matt Reynolds received 17.3%, Alice Martin 16.1%, and Brian Blok 15.8%. Finally, in the ballot question regarding a bond referendum for Mt. Vernon District 80 for the gymnasium addition to Casey Middle School, area voters approved by a 10% margin. For full results, go to