6 recognized with Illinois’ top professional honor

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (AP) — Six business, medical and scholarly leaders will receive the Order of Lincoln this year. Gov. Bruce Rauner on Tuesday announced the winners of the state’s highest honor for professional achievement and public service. They are Arthur H. Bunn of Bunn-O-Matic Corp. in Springfield; Ertharin Cousin, executive director of the United Nations World Food Programme; and Dr. J. Roland Folse, a surgeon for Southern Illinois School of Medicine. Other honorees are Sara Vaughn Gabbard, a nationally recognized Lincoln scholar and director of the Friends of the Lincoln Collection of Indiana; and Gary Slutkin, founder and executive director of Cure Violence. Broadcaster W. Russell Withers Jr. will receive the award posthumously. The Order of Lincoln will be presented May 9 at the 51st Annual Convocation of the Lincoln Academy of Illinois.