Many Names Filed For Benton City Election Races

(BENTON, IL) — It looks like there will be some contested races for mayor and city council in Benton in the April 7th election. Fred Kondritz will challenge incumbent Gary Kraft in the mayor’s race. As for the city council, Melvin Dixon, David Moore and Joey Smith will also be seeking a city council seat. Incumbents Ronnie Baumgarte, Bob Burnett, Dennis Miller and Don Wyant will seek re-election. The filing period for the city election ended Dec. 22.